Soaring Wings Half-training week #4

Week 4 is in the books! Yayyy. Everyday I’m getting more and more excited for this race. It’s been a long time coming and after these 18 weeks of training, I know I will be more prepared than I ever ๐Ÿ™‚ So without further adieu, let’s get to it!

What was supposed to happenย ~ What actually happened

SUNDAY – Arms/legs/core strength +40 mins cardioย ~ 3 outside miles @ 12:24, 3 treadmill miles @ 11:12, 20 minutes of arm & leg machines, 10 minutes on bike

I wanted and NEEDED to make up the miles I missed last week(yesterday), so I did my long run. Stupidly, I started wayyyy too late and it was already super hot. So I stopped at 3 miles and decided to go to the gym to finish up the 6 I had planned. I pretty much did as the plan suggested….I just ran instead of cross-train cardio. So it was a win-win in my books!

IMG_5439.JPG

MONDAY – Restย ~ Rest (nailed it!)

Part of me wanted to run or bike or SOMETHING, but I knew the next 3 days would be miles and more miles, so I rested. I thoroughly enjoyed it too! I spent all evening reading a new book, more about that in another post! So I’ll leave you with a picture of one of my favorite summer snacks. Mmmmm. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_5456.JPGWell, I also decided to experiment with something new for dinner. I made this rice, zucchini, and squash casserole. It was surprisingly pretty good for my first try. Next time though, I’ll definitely add a little more seasoning.

IMG_5441.JPG

TUESDAY –ย 4 milesย ~ 4 miles @12:46 pace

Oh. My. Goodness. It had been a few weeks since I ran outside in the evening. I was most definitely not prepared for the heat and humidity! It has warmed up even more than it was a few weeks ago.

IMG_5467.JPGIMG_5471.JPG

When I left the apartment it(obviously from the picture) was 87, but “felt like” 95. The first 2 miles weren’t too horrible @ 11:19 & 12:05. But after mile 2, I started to feel very light headed and dehydrated. I had to stop my watch and literally sit on the curb. I thought I was going to pass out. After about 2-3 minutes, I decided I had to get home somehow….so I started to slowly run and walk when needed. The next 2 mile splits were consistent, both at 13:50 pace. By the time I got home, I was soaked. And exhausted. And thirsty AF. I’m proud that I finished the run instead of calling someone to pick me up. I honestly never thought I would miss running on a treadmill! Definitely hitting up the gym for Wednesday’s miles….

Lunch on Tuesday was one of my favorites… a salad with an array of veggies and color<3

IMG_5459.JPG

WEDNESDAY – 3 MILES +L/C STRENGTHย ~ 3 miles @11:54, 60 lunges, planks

After Tuesday’s run in the heat and humidity, Wednesday was much easier on the treadmill! And I also go in my strength training…so it was a great on-track day! I also treated myself with a 250 calories protein smoothie afterwards ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_5475.JPGIMG_5476.JPG

THURSDAY – 4 miles ~ย Rest

Thursday morning I woke up super sore from all the lunges I did on Wednesday. Then before I left for work….I noticed a leak in my apartment. I spent the next 2 hours constantly squatting down to scoop water out of this clogged drain.

IMG_5479.JPG

Needless to say, those squats killed me! After 2 hours, luckily the plumbers showed up and got everything taken care of. So after work, I relaxed.

IMG_5482.JPG

FRIDAY – RESTย ~ 1.5 miles @11:22 & .5 mile@9:31

Since I rested Thursday, I figured I’d better make up a few miles, so I hit up the gym after work. 2 miles today, it was something.

Here’s my FacetoFace Friday! A lot of things have changed since I took the picture on the left!

IMG_5489.JPG

SATURDAY – 7 mile long runย ~ rest

I woke up to rainy/stormy outside, so i slept in. I’m getting pretty bad about following this training schedule. I need to get my head out of my aaaaasssssss. I didn’t run. I had planned on at least walk/running a few miles on my treadmill at home….but I let this excuse stop me….

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

The power went out for about 1.5 hours. So instead of working out, I showered by candlelight and was about to leave, just as the power came back on. (I did make up a few miles on Sunday….but that’ll be in next weeks post).

This week’s summary… get my sh*t together, start running outside even though it’s sooooo hot, suck it up…If I want to be ready for my first half, I need to pick it up. End ‘o story.

~Alyssa Marie

Leave a Reply

