Soaring Wings Training begins in 3..2..1

Tomorrow is the day(this blog post shows a date of June 18th?? Posted on the 17th. training started the 18th!)! The long anticipated day 1 of my 18 week half marathon training! When I decided on this particular half, I wasn’t sure how long I’d train for 12 weeks? 16? 18? I settled on an 18 week schedule due to the date it landed on(June 18th-stay tuned for tomorrow’s post). I knew I would need something to keep my mind and body occupied on this day and the days following.

I also wasn’t 100% sure which training method was right for me. Some seemed too easy, others way too hard. So I sat down with Hal Higdon’s 12 week plan and halfmarathon.net’s 16 week plan and wrote out one I knew would be challenging-yet attainable for me….

IMG_5302 (1).JPG

When I trained for my 10-miler, the plan was basically just run run run. So this time, I knew I wanted to incorporate cross-training and I knew I NEEDED to get strength training in. I believe this schedule will have me prepared for race day!

IMG_5290.JPG

My biggest hope for this training season…. I hope that all these tough, ridiculously hot runs will prepare me for a muggy race day. But that miraculously, race morning will be somewhat chilly! One can hope right?! Race day is October 21st. Here in Arkansas it could still be super hot, or already cooling for fall. It’s a 50/50 chance. So I will pray for the best, but train for the worst!

Oh….and today, I received the biggest, unexpected blessing! I went to a consignment shop to look for some work clothes. I found a few shirts…then browsed the shoe section-no luck. As I was getting ready to pay and leave, something told me to look at the athletic section. I skimmed the tanks and shorts and then like a ray of freaking sunshine coming directly from heaven…. I noticed a pair of shoes on the shelf above the rack of athletic wear.

IMG_5309.JPG

Basically a brand spankin new pair of Brooks Launch 4’s! (It looks like someone took them out for 1 short run…but no wear on the tread at all!) Annnnnd they fit perfectly! I couldn’t-and still can’t- believe it! A brand new pair of $100 shoes….mine for $33! This is such a blessing to me right now. The pair I had been running in, only have 175ish miles on them, but after I started wearing them is when my arches and hips started to bother me. Maybe the pain was caused by the shoes, maybe not. But I’d been thinking about when I could afford to buy a new pair. Also, I’d decided I would go with Brooks since they are so highly rated, but wasn’t sure which ones to go with. Soooo…. launch 4’s it is! Gosh. I am so stinkin happy!

IMG_5312.JPG

Luckily for me, I hadn’t run yet today….so naturally, I had to test them out ASAP! So I took my butt to the gym. I did 3 miles and they felt AMAZING! I then did 15 minutes on the bike…but wanted to feel the shoes out more. LOL! So I did another half mile of jog/sprint intervals. I. AM. IN. LOVE! Hoping that these are the answer to my foot/hip pain prayers. If they continue to feel great, I won’t stray from Brooks again. Promise. 🙂

I hope everyone is having a great weekend! ❤

 

~Alyssa Marie

4 thoughts on “Soaring Wings Training begins in 3..2..1

Leave a Reply

