March 2016

 

I’m not sure what my final “ah-ha” moment was. But looking at these pictures that I took in January/Febuary of 2015, obviously by the title of this blog post….it took over a year for me to snap the hell out of it. After high school, my weight fluctuated up and down a lot. At graduation(2005) I was at 205lbs. By 2008ish, I had managed to get down to around 140lbs. Over the years it slowly crept back on. Until my ah-ha moment in 2016, where I weighed in at my highest weight ever, 244 pounds 😲 At this point, I had overcome a moved to a different state, a divorce, and the loss of 2 babies.

But let’s rewind just a little bit. I met my Tommy is July of 2014 and as many people do, I became comfortable in our relationship. Through our ups and downs, he loved me. Not to mention, he loved my body. My “curves” and my “thick thighs”. I don’t know how or why, but he did. But in March of 2016 when I started my weight-loss journey, he supported my decision to become healthy and to lose the weight. Sure-we had a conversation at one point where he said he didn’t want, and didn’t think I should lose anymore weight. So I asked him, “Do you want me to be healthy? To live a very long time by your side?” His smile fell and mumbled… well, yes. I said, “Well ok then, I’ll continue to lose weight so I can be healthy and be here with you for a long, long time.”

In the beginning of my journey, the weight-loss was actually rather easy. I finally set my mind to it, so I did it. I started eating lots of vegetables, whole grains, proteins, healthy fats, and some fruits. I bought myself a FitBit to track my activity throughout the day. I made sure to hit my step goal everyday, even rest days. On non-rest days, I went to the gym and mainly used the cardio equipment. Once I was a little comfortable with the gym atmosphere, I started to branch out and work a little weight training in.

When I started, I didn’t have a clue what I was doing. I knew only about stuff I researched. But you know what, every little step you take, will get you that much closer to where you want to be! I created an instagram account to help keep me accountable, it has helped tremendously! Follow me hereΒ πŸ˜ƒ

In July 2016(I had gotten down to around 205 at this point) is when my love for running started, but that is for the next post. Happy Monday ya’ll!

Alyssa Marie

Leave a Reply

